Welcome to Front Sight Firearms & LTC Training! Created by an El Paso native with over 16 years experience as a Firearms Instructor! We offer a fun and relaxed teaching atmosphere dedicated to delivering the highest caliber of firearms training education available. Thank you for visiting and please Contact Us with any questions you may have.
“We take pride in offering private 1-on-1 training and small group classes for a more positive and personalized experience! “
We are currently scheduling training classes by appointment only. Please call, text, or email to schedule a training (915) 276-3100.
License to Carry Information
Go to https://www.texas.gov/public-safety/texas-handgun-license/ Click the link to apply for an original Texas License to Carry (LTC) and complete the application. You may then print the needed forms, including the new law book.
Sign up through the Texas DPS website for fingerprinting. You may have your fingerprints done before or after taking the class.
Register for the LTC class by calling or texting at 915-276-3100.
The LTC class includes:
- 4-6 hours of instruction with the ability to ask questions during the class.
- Hearing and eye protection, if needed
- Targets for shooting exam.
- Written and shooting proficiency test.
- Completed LTC-100 form which will need to be submitted to the state for the processing of your application.
Forward the completed LTC-100 and any supplemental paperwork to the state at the following: https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/contact/Contact?sProgram=LTC
Introduction to Handguns and License to Carry (LTC) Combo
Receive top-notch handgun instruction from a patient and experienced instructor! This course is specifically designed for the novice shooter, beginner shooter, or anyone who wants a refresher course on shooting a handgun. Come and learn from an experienced Instructor that has nearly 16 years experience as a Firearms Instructor! You will receive basic handgun instruction to include safe handling of firearms while at home or at the range, range safety, basic principles of shooting, basic weapon manipulation, handgun malfunctions and much more! You will also receive instructions on how to apply for your Texas License to Carry! This course also includes 1.5 hours of instruction with live fire at the shooting range. You will leave confident in your abilities to handle your handgun safely and will have qualified (50 round qualification) for your License to Carry. *Remember to Contact Us to set up a date for your training! (Range fees and ammunition not included)
- Introduction to Handguns & License to Carry Combo Cost – $350 each, or bring a friend $600 for two!
Introduction to Handguns
This course is similar to the combo course but does not include any License to Carry instruction. This is perfect for those who want to learn more about handgun use and safety. During this “hands-on” 2-hour class, you will receive basic handgun instruction to include safe handling of firearms while at home or at the range, range safety, basic principles of shooting, basic weapon manipulation, handgun malfunctions and much more! This course also includes 1.5 hour of instruction with live fire at the shooting range. (Range fees and ammunition not included)
- Introduction to Handguns Cost – $250 each, or bring a friend $400 for two!
Introduction to Handguns – Knowledge & Safety Course
This course is similar to the Introduction to Handguns course but does not include the shooting portion at the range. This is perfect for beginners or those who simply want to learn more about handgun use and safety. During this “hands-on” course you will receive basic handgun instruction to include safe handling of firearms while at home or at the range, range safety, basic principles of shooting, basic weapon manipulation, handgun malfunctions and much more! This course does not include any live shooting at the range.
- Introduction to Handguns Cost – $200 each, or bring a friend $300 for two!
Texas License to Carry Course
THIS CLASS DOES NOT PROVIDE HANDGUN INSTRUCTION: YOU MUST BE PROFICIENT IN THE USE OF A HANDGUN PRIOR TO TAKING THIS CLASS.
This course is designed for the moderately experienced shooters. The course class is approximately 4-5 hours and covers the Texas Department of Public Safety curriculum. This course does not include basic handgun instruction. You must be familiar with your handgun (safety and operation) prior to taking this course. (Range fees and ammunition not included)
- Texas License to Carry Cost $175 each, or bring a friend $300 for two, bring 2 friends $400 for three!
Discounted License to Carry Course
THIS CLASS DOES NOT PROVIDE HANDGUN INSTRUCTION: YOU MUST BE PROFICIENT IN THE USE OF A HANDGUN PRIOR TO TAKING THIS CLASS.
Special Rates available for Law Enforcement (Active & Retired), Military (Active & Retired), First Responders and Teachers. (Proof required & Range fees not included)
- Cost – $125 each (minimum 2 person)
1-On-1 Firearms Training at Shooting Range (1-Hour)
This class is designed around you! Whether you’re entirely new to shooting or you’re looking to develop your existing skills, anyone can learn to improve their accuracy with one-on-one training with an expert instructor. We tailor each course to your unique goals. (Range fees and ammunition not included in price)
- Private 1-on-1 Firearms Training Cost, One 1-hour session – $150 per person
1-On-1 Firearms Training at Shooting Range (Three 1-Hour Sessions)
Enjoy all the benefits of 1-on-1 training with one of our expert instructors. Book your first session online and schedule your follow on sessions upon the completion of your first session! Three total 1hr sessions. (Range fees and ammunition not included in price)
- Private 1-on-1 Firearms Training Cost, Three 1-hour sessions – $400 per person
2-On-1 Firearms Training at Shooting Range (1-Hour)
Bring a friend or family member and hone your skills! Perfect for new shooters to experienced shooters, we will customize each session to suit the needs of each shooter! (Range fees and ammunition not included in price)
- Cost – $250 for 2 people
Retired Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA)
Front Sight Firearms is proud to provide retired law enforcement officers the annual 50-round firearm proficiency exam. If you need to receive or renew your firearm qualification, look no further.
Course of Fire: Each retired officer will fire 50 rounds at an official B-27 target using standard scoring method. Minimum passing score is 175 points out of a possible 250 points. More specifically, you will fire:
- 20 rounds @ 3 yard line
- 20 rounds @ 7 yard line
- 10 rounds @ 15 yard line
- Cost – $50 per person (range fees not included)
- Note: One string of fire will incorporate a timed reload.
- Duty-Type Handgun in good repair with no modifications that would make it less safe.
- Holster that fits your model handgun.
- 50 rounds of ammunition.
- Two magazines for semiautomatics.
- Hearing & eye protection. (Loaners available)
- Photo ID
Special group rates
Available for groups of 5 or more, please Contact Us for details.
What are the requirements for obtaining a License to Carry a Handgun (LTC) ? Applicants must be at least 21 years of age (unless active duty military) and must meet Federal qualifications to purchase a handgun.
What makes me ineligible to receive a LTC? A number of factors may make individuals ineligible to obtain a license, such as: felony convictions, some misdemeanor convictions, including charges that resulted in probation or deferred adjudication; certain pending criminal charges; chemical or alcohol dependency; certain types of psychological diagnoses, and protective or restraining orders.
How do I apply for a Texas License to Carry a Handgun (LTC)? Applicants for an original (first-time) LTC should submit an online application, and schedule an appointment for fingerprinting. Applicants must also complete four to six hours of classroom training, pass a written examination and pass a proficiency demonstration (shooting). All classroom and proficiency must be conducted in Texas by a LTC instructor certified by DPS.
Once I submit my application, when should I expect to receive my license? DPS will make every effort to issue your license within 60 days of receiving the completed application packet. If the application is incomplete or requires additional information to complete the background check, you will be notified in writing.
How long is the Texas License to Carry a Handgun (LTC) valid? Initial licenses are valid for four years. Renewal licenses are valid for five years.
When does the law allowing a licensee to openly carry a handgun go into effect? House Bill 910 becomes effective January 1, 2016.
How much does it cost to obtain or renew a License to Carry a Handgun (LTC)? The standard fee for an original LTC is $40. The standard fee for a renewal of a LTC is $40. However, Texas law provides for some discounts if you meet certain special conditions. The classroom and shooting proficiency fees are not included with this.
Do I have to be a resident of Texas to obtain a Texas License to Carry a Handgun (LTC)? No. Per Texas Government Code §411.173, legal residents of another state or persons who relocate to Texas with the intent to establish residency may obtain an LTC. Those individuals must submit an application, pay the required fees, successfully complete the required training in Texas and submit all supporting documents. They also must submit form CHL-6, two passport style photos and a copy of their out of state driver license or state issued identification card. Note, however, that all LTC applicants must be legal residents of Texas or another state.
What type of class or training is required in order to obtain a Texas License to Carry a Handgun (LTC)? An original (first-time) LTC applicant must complete classroom training, pass a written examination and pass a proficiency demonstration (shooting). All classroom and proficiency must be conducted by an LTC instructor certified by DPS. The classroom instruction may be a four to six hour course and must cover the four (4) statutory required topics:
- Laws that relate to weapons and the use of deadly force
- Handgun use and safety, including use of restraint holsters and methods to ensure the secure carrying of openly carried handguns
- Non-violent dispute resolution
- Proper storage practices for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child
Is there a requirement to take a continuing education course before I can renew my Texas License to Carry a Handgun (LTC)? Per HB 48 (83rd Legislature), continuing education is no longer required for LTC renewal. License holders will simply apply online and submit the supporting documents for discounted fees or special conditions.
NOTE: It is the license holder’s responsibility to remain informed and knowledgeable of new laws. For additional information related to new legislation, see Legislative Updates.
If I have a Texas License to Carry a Handgun (LTC) and I am traveling to another state with a reciprocal agreement, what are my responsibilities? If you are in a state that has reciprocity with Texas, you must follow that state’s laws for carrying a handgun. The same responsibility applies to anyone from another state when traveling in Texas; they must follow Texas laws for carrying a handgun. Most states will have a website for their carry licenses or permits that specify their laws. Alternatively, you may contact the other state and ask what their laws are for carrying a handgun while in that state.
Will I need to have a gun before I begin my training class? Some instructors may require you to use your own gun during the proficiency (shooting) demonstration. However, others may provide the gun and/or ammunition. You will need to consult with a certified instructor to determine if you will need a handgun for the course.
I have applied for a Texas License to Carry a Handgun (LTC). When can I begin carrying my handgun? You can begin carrying your handgun upon receipt of the physical license. As a reminder, HB 910 related to open carry becomes effective January 1, 2016. Issuance of the LTC prior to the effective date does not provide authority for license holders to carry openly before the effective date of the new law.
No. HB 910, passed by the 84th Texas Legislature, allows license holders to openly carry a handgun in a shoulder or belt holster. The law does not specify any particular type of shoulder or belt holster.
I currently hold a Texas License to Carry a Handgun (LTC). Does the law prohibit carrying a handgun on public transportation? No. Texas law does not specifically address any prohibitions against a license holder from carrying a handgun on public transportation.
Does the law prohibit the licensed carrying of a handgun in a public park? No. Texas law does not specifically address any prohibitions against a license holder from carrying a handgun in public park.
Do private property owners have the right to exclude license holders from their property? Yes. Private property owners may exclude license holders from carrying concealed handguns on their property by giving the license holder effective notice as provided in Section 30.06, Texas Penal Code.
Effective 1/1/2016, private property owners may exclude license holders from carrying openly on their property by giving the license holder effective notice as provided by Section 30.07, Texas Penal Code.
For the purpose of these two statutory sections, the owner of the property or someone with apparent authority to act for the owner may provide effective notice.
If licensed, can I carry more than one handgun? Texas law does not address the number of handguns a license holder may carry.
If licensed, can I carry concealed or openly on the premises of a college campus? Currently, Texas law prohibits the carrying of handguns on the premises of a college campus.
SB 11 related to carrying of handguns on certain campuses of higher education institutions including private and independent institutions becomes effective on August 1, 2016. The act becomes effective for a public junior college on August 1, 2017. Open carrying of handguns on a college campus will continue to be prohibited.
Provided information subject to change. Please visit Texas.gov for additional information and/or updates.